5 5 6 6
2016-2017 Varsity Boys Track & Field Team

Varsity Boys Track
Coaching Staff:  Tom Byrnes (head coach); Bill Blackburn, Phil Cox, Scott Mathias, and Ricke Stucker (assistant coaches), and Steve Cusick (volunteer coach)

Mae Brandon, Arianna Cooper, Kheyarra Johnson, Abrianna Vawter
Terrence Armstrong
Coy Brandon
Caleb Cook
Andrecus Eddington

Gavin Bitner
Corey Dea
Kaijon East
Maximiliano Esponda
Anthony Fox
Noah Gallaher
Aion Jones
Anonio Jones
Cameron Julbert
Casey Lawson
Joseph Nieto
Nathan Pine
Austin Shapiro
Tyler Shelly
Brody Smith
Justin Taflinger
Alex Ward
Qin Wei Yang
Drake Blackburn
Deonta Chamberlain
Adidas Clark
Anthony Clark
Paul Lancaster
Kevin Logan
Andra Nash
Keegan Paul
Shemar Robinson
Seth Stonebraker
Julian Wallace
DeShawn Winston

Quincy Armstrong
Jeremy Baker
Kohl Beard
Alex Bolinger
Nathaneal Elkin
Elias Fuentes
Jeremiah Neal
Maurice Pierce
Malakai Smiley
Daniel Smith
Chris Thomas
Cody Westerman
Christopher White
Gene Yang
Deonte Young
Click for Unified Track schedule

 Date  Opponent  Time  Score
Mar. 3
5:30 pm

Mar. 11
10:00 am
Kokomo boy’s track and field team ran its second meet of the season at Hoosier State Relays qualifier meet at Indiana Wesleyan University on March 11th.
Kokomo results included:
3200 Meter Run:
Max Esponda 10:34.72 13th
Cory Dea 10:40.56 14th
Coy Brandon 10:55.52 17th
60 Meter Dash:
Andrecus Eddington 7.10 2nd
Joseph Nieto 7.57 20th
Andra Nash 7.69 28th
4x200 Relay:
Chris Thomas, DeShawn Winston
Antonio Jones, Aion Jones 1:44.08 18th
4x400 Relay:
Andrecus Eddington, Julian Wallace
Taflinger, Graves 3:44.28 5th
4x800 Relay:
Cory Dea, Coy Brandon
Max Esponda, Justin Tafliner 8:53.64
Shot Put:
Anthony Fox 36’04.50” 24th

- Coach Brynes
Mar. 16
Indoor @ Ben Davis (CG) (T)
5:30 pm
Kokomo boy’s track and field team put its full team in action Tuesday night at Ben Davis High School. We had good performances and efforts. Overall, we are very young and have a lot to learn over the next couple of months.
Our results included:
Placing 1st:
Andrecus Eddington 100 Meters 11.06
200 Meters 23.01
Andra Nash High Jump 5’06”
Long Jump 19’06”
Placing 2nd:
Justin Taflinger 1600 Meters 4:57.96
Max Esponda 1600 Meters 5:00.6
Nathan Pine Discus 121’08
Julian Wallace High Jump 5’06”
Placing 3rd:
Cameron Julbert Discus 109’11”
Joseph Nieto Pole Vault 10’00”

Our next meet is the 2nd week of spring vacation at home against Peru on April 5th at 5:00.

- Coach Byrnes
Mar. 25
HSR Finals @ PU
2:00 pm

Apr. 5
Peru (H)
5:30 pm
(W) 87-45

The Wildkats won nine events and were led by quadruple winner Andrecus Eddington. The speedy senior won the 100 meters in 10.95, the 200 in 24.00, and anchored both the 4x100 relay (46.20) and the 4x400 relay (3:50.03).

Junior Justin Taflinger won the 1600 in 5:00.15 and was on the victorious 4x 400 relay. Senior Coy Brandon placed first in the 800 meters with a 2:21.40, and freshman Chris Thomas was a member of both winning relays.

Junior Nathan Pine won both throwing events with a 40'1" shot put heave and a 127'00" discus toss. Sophomore Drake Blackburn and junior Joseph Nieto both cleared 10'0" in the pole vault with Blackburn winning on fewer misses.

Sophomore Andra Nash had an outstanding leap of 20'2 ½ " to garner a 2ndplace ribbon.

- Asst. Coach Stucker
Apr. 11
Tipton/Western @ Tipton
5:00 pm
Western 76, Kokomo 56, Tipton 35

Andrecus Eddington led the Kats with three victories out of our six event wins. He won the 400 meters in 54.41, anchored the 400 relay's 44.56, and the 1600 relay's 3:43.72.

Joseph Nieto won the 200 meters with a 23.80, Corey Dea crossed the line first in the 3200 in 10:53.60, and Drake Blackburn captured the pole vault at 10'6".

- Asst. Coach Stucker
Apr. 15
Marion Relays
11:00 am
Kokomo finished fourth with 80.5 points behind Marion's first-place score of 113.
Apr. 18
Lafayette Jeff (H)
5:30 pm
(L) 84-47

The 4 x 800 relay team crossed the line first in 8:50.94 and was composed of Max Esponda, Coy Brandon, Justin Taflinger, and Julian Wallace. Joseph Nieto won the 200 meter dash with a :24.23, and Drake Blackburn leaped 10'0" to get 1st place in the pole vault. Andra Nash went 19'6.25" to win the long jump, and Anthony Fox heaved the
shot 40' 6.5" and got the victory. Nathan
Pine spun the discus 123' 2" for his first
place effort.

- Asst. Coach Stucker
Apr. 22
Muncie Relays (T)
10:00 am
Kokomo finished 6th with 42 points.
The 4 x 800 Relay team was the Wildkats' only win. Max Esponda, Coy Brandon, Julian Wallace, and Justin Taflinger sliced 10 seconds off their season best with an 8:40.59 effort.
Capturing a 3rd place ribbon was the Distance Medley Relay (1200, 400, 800, 1600) of Coy Brandon, Tyler Shelley, Alex Ward, and Corey Dea in 11:50.12. Finishing in 4th place was
the Sprint Medley Relay (100, 100, 200, 400) with a 1:41.04 time.
- Asst. Coach Stucker
Apr. 25
Marion (T)
5:30 pm
(L) 95-43
Apr. 29
Kokomo Relays (H)
11:30 am
Rained out.
May 5
NCC @ Lafayette Jeff
5:30 pm
Kokomo finished 7th in the conference tournament.

Anderson was first with 109.5 and was followed by Lafayette Jeff, 101, McCutcheon, 96, Harrison, 85, Muncie Central 76, Marion 66, Kokomo, 34.5, Indianapolis Arsenal Technical, 30, Logansport, 17 and Richmond, 9.

First and NCC Champion:
Andrecus Eddington 100 Meters 10.86 (3rd Fastest in School History)
4x100 Relay Team of Shemar Robinson, Terrence Armstrong, Joseph Nieto, Andrecus Eddington, 44.51
Joseph Nieto 200 Meters 23.47
Drake Blackburn Pole Vault 10’06”
4x800 Relay Team of Max Esponda, Julian Wallace, Justin Taflinger, Coy
Brandon, 8:45.10
Julian Wallace Int. Hurdles 43.76
4x400 Relay Team of Quincy Armstrong, Chris Thomas, Joseph Nieto and Julian Wallace, 3:43.83
- Coach Byrnes
May 11
Logansport (H)
5:30 pm
(W) 67½ - 64½

...The Kats won seven events and were led by double winner Corey Dea. The junior distance runner won the 1600 meters in a season best of 4:54.55 and the 3200 at 10:49.96....
- Asst. Coach Stucker
May 18
Sectional @ Kokomo
5:00 pm
Kokomo finished second in the boys track and field sectional.
Click for complete sectional results.
May 25
Regional @ Kokomo
6:00 pm
No Wildkat advanced to the IHSAA State Meet.
Click for complete regional results.